punkvast.blogg.se

The space in between the notes quote
The space in between the notes quote











the space in between the notes quote
  1. #The space in between the notes quote full#
  2. #The space in between the notes quote professional#
  3. #The space in between the notes quote series#

#The space in between the notes quote professional#

She said she used to be a professional singer and a voice instructor. What she said next made me see the practice that I’ve done for so many years in a new way. It’s not about getting from point A to point B, but how you get there.

the space in between the notes quote

I explained to her that that is my favorite part of the yoga practice… the space in between the poses and how there are infinite variations of poses that can be pieced together in infinite combination. The other evening after yoga class-on Valentine’s Day night, when my fiance had left unexpectedly for a mission and I found myself with an empty schedule and myself with two hours of practice-I struck up a conversation with the woman next to me.Īs we were talking, she said she couldn’t help but notice how I move in between poses, that the transitions I did were so beautiful and fluid.

#The space in between the notes quote full#

(Read the full text: The Parable of the Trapeze Turning the Fear of Transformation into the Transformation of Fear by Danaan Parry, from the book Warrior of the Heart ) Yes, with all the pain and fear and feelings of being out of control that can (but not necessarily) accompany transitions, they are still the most alive, most growth-filled, passionate, expansive moments in our lives. The transition zones in our lives are incredibly rich places. I have a sneaking suspicion that the transition zone is.where the real change, the real growth, occurs for us. I have noticed that, in our culture, this transition zone is looked upon as a "no-thing”.the void in between? Is that just a scary, confusing, disorienting nowhere that must be gotten through as fast and as unconsciously as possible? What a wasted opportunity that would be. I mean real change, not the pseudo-change that only lasts until the next time my old buttons get punched. It's called "transition." I have come to believe that this transition is the only place that real change occurs. For an eternity that can last a microsecond or a thousand lifetimes, I soar across the dark void of "the past is gone, the future is not yet here." I'm either hanging on to a trapeze bar swinging along or, for a few moments in my life, I'm hurtling across space in between trapeze bars.

#The space in between the notes quote series#

Sometimes I feel that my life is a series of trapeze swings. In his “Parable of the Trapeze” writer Danaan Parry put it this way: So often we spend our days rushing through space, whether that’s hurtling through traffic from point A to B in our car or hastening to complete the next bullet point on our never-ending to-do list. Open space is, in my mind, incredibly under-appreciated. In fact, operating in space is exactly the opposite. I remind my yoga students that from time to time, not to diminish the importance of yoga to them or to make it seem trivial. We are essentially just moving our bodies around in space.













The space in between the notes quote